Warlords of Draenor ruminations

Image

Hello. Can’t believe the guild report has been off for almost a month. I do apologize but the usual distractions (work, grad school, sleep) have prevented me from blogging more often. But never fear, the report is coming back strong. Today I wanted to focus on Blizzard’s World of Warcraft, and why I have decided to come back to the fold, at least for the time being.

Truth be told, I got bored of wow’s linear trajectory. Questing is pretty uneventful in this mmo as many players I am sure are fully aware. I don’t mind grinding for gear and items, but I do find it boring to go from zone to zone depending on your race. Since I am mostly a horde player, I was leveling my main (paladin Tauren goes by the name of HolyBovine) but I didn’t get very far.

Now that the next expansion is set to drop, I thought it might be interesting to switch factions for an alt and try Draenei Hunter. One of the things that has always impressed me and hooked me about wow is how much care Blizzard has put into their game’s lore, and I am sure that I am not the only wow nerd out there who feels the same. Yes, they are bastards for essentially continuing to charge for a 10 year old mmo when there are so many good f2p games out there now, but that is neither here nor there. I was having fun the other night breezing through the Draenei start zone, which is very colorful, or at least a brief escape from the somewhat drab hues of the Horde zones.

Shifting gears a bit, for the next few weeks I will endeavor to hook up more guild players with guilds in less traditional mmos since there are plenty of mainstream guilds out there recruiting for Final Fantasy XIV and GW2.

Will also be putting up some Q&As with some guild leaders in the weeks to come from various games, so look out for them!

Leave a Reply

